≡ Menu

Kaala Music Review

Movie: Kaala

Cast: ‘Superstar’ Rajinikanth, Huma Qureshi, Nana Patekar, Samuthirakani, Eswari Rao

Director: Pa. Ranjith

Music director: Santhosh Narayanan


1. Semma Weightu – Hariharasudhan, Santhosh Narayanan Rap: Dopeadelicz, Arunraja Kamaraj

This classy intro song predominantly falls into the stylish genre. Santhosh Narayanan indulges in some quirky experimentation, like the dubstep-like rhythm pattern and beatboxing by Beat Slayer (Dopeadelicz) towards the end. Trumpet has been used as the primary instrument, which highlights the entire song. Hariharasudhan and Santhosh Narayanan are the main singers. However, their voices are overshadowed by the rap portions crooned by Dope Daddy, Stony Psyko, MC Mawali and Arunraja Kamaraj. Though the overall packaging is not like other Rajnikanth’s intro songs, it is sure to scorch the screens.

2. Thanga Sela – Shankar Mahadevan, Pradeep Kumar, Ananthu

This is a foot-tapping number that is filled with some interesting Indian percussion by Ganapathy and Venkat. The overall packaging sounds like a playful gaana number, as Satish Ragunathan’s ebullient harmonium plays throughout. Additionally, Keba Jeremiah’s dulcet guitar strums elevate the lovely mood of the song. Shankar Mahadevan’s rendition is flawless and he emotes well with a romantic trace. Pradeep Kumar, Ananthu and Santhosh Narayanan join him in a radiant chorus which turn magnificent towards the end of the song. Instantly catchy!

3. Katravai Patravai – Yogi B, Arunraja Kamaraj, Roshan Jamrock

Beginning with a dazzling rap by Yogi B, Arunraja Kamaraj and Roshan Jamrock, this number invokes the feeling of political rage. It would surely be played during a crucial point in the movie and will have interesting montage sequences. David Joseph’s blaring drums, synthesizers and Keba Jeremiah’s electronic guitar sections are the highlights of the song. The specialty of this number comes towards the end, where over 40,000 different voices shout the words ‘Katravai Patravai’. Superstar Rajinikanth’s mass dialogue ‘Kya re…setting ah’ at the middle of the song is sure to receive a scream in the theaters.

4. Kannamma – Pradeep Kumar, Dhee

After some commercial numbers, Santhosh Narayanan brings in a breezy melody that mesmerizes right from the word go. Pradeep Kumar’s dreamy tone feels like honey to the ears. He emotes with elan and brings in his own classical touches. Dhee’s bold voice complements him well. Ananthu’s backing vocals are an added advantage. Santhosh indulges in some soulful orchestration like Keba Jeremiah’s acoustic guitar sections, Vishnu Vijay’s soul-stirring flute, Joseph Vijay’s additional Nylon guitar solo and Ananthu’s enthralling whistle towards the end. Pick of the album!

5. Kannamma (Acapella) – Ananthu

Kannamma returns in yet another beautiful form. This time it is a one-man show by Ananthu. He croons the entire number with his heartfelt voice. He also provides the addictive backing vocals and his signature whistle. Passionate version!

6. Urimaiyai Meetpom – Vijay Prakash, Ananthu

The number begins on a slow note with the words ‘Urimaiyai meetpom…’ being rendered in different styles by Vijay Prakash and Ananthu. Soon it veers off into a gala mode with some foot-tapping beats and vibrant chorus. Santhosh Narayanan forays into the inspirational gaana genre for the first time. Ganapathy and Venkat’s percussion deserve a standing ovation. Arivu’s motivational lyrics are sure to be quoted by many youngsters in the upcoming days. The joyful ‘Nilame urimai…’ chorus of Rohith Fernandes, Yogi Sekar, Chinna, Tony Britto and RK Sundar makes for an engaging listen. Vijay Prakash’s classical sangadhis interspersed with the chorus is an innovative move by the composer. Best inspirational song of recent times!

7. Poraaduvom – Dopeadelicz

Santhosh Narayanan’s opens this upbeat number with some delightful synths and rhythm. This number too falls into the inspirational category and it comes at a time when lots of protests are going on in the country. Though there are no definite vocals to quote as the main voices, the spectacular rap by Dopeadelicz is enough to make the song a majestic listen. Santhosh also brings in some lively chorus to elevate the fiery mood of the number. Chartbuster!

8. Theruvilakku – Dopeadelicz, Muthamil

Yet another mass number is up next in the album. With some amazing beats by RK Sundar, this song serves as a motivational number to the slum-dwellers in the area of Dharavi. Apart from Dopeadelicz’s catchy rap portions, Muthamil does a commendable job in lending his powerful vocals for some encouraging lines. This is the shortest track of the album and it is pretty good as long as it lasts.

9. Nikkal Nikkal – Dopeadelicz, Vivek, Arunraja Kamaraj

This out-and-out dappankuthu number is sure to become an anthem in the upcoming days. The catchy phrase ‘Nikkal nikkal chalte re…’ is quite addictive. Lyrics by Dopeadelicz and Logan are like smearing grease to the faces of corrupt politicians. They are on point and quotable by many youngsters. The peppy rhythm by ‘4 idiots’ group and the strong voices of Dopeadelicz, Vivek and Arunraja Kamaraj work in the favour of the song. Santhosh Narayanan’s brings in a grand finale to the soundtrack with this utterly enjoyable kuthu song. Another chartbuster!


This is a splendid soundtrack from Santhosh Narayanan. Every number has mass and class stamped over it. All the songs are chartbuster materials and will stay in the playlists for a long time.

Rating: **** (4 / 5)

Thanga Sela, Kannamma, Kannamma (Acapella), Urimaiyai Meetpom, Poraaduvom, Nikkal Nikkal